<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xml:base="http://www.techpresident.com" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">
<channel>
 <title>techPresident - Is Giuliani Violating the CAN-SPAM Act?  - Comments</title>
 <link>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act</link>
 <description>Comments for &quot;Is Giuliani Violating the CAN-SPAM Act? &quot;</description>
 <language>en</language>
<item>
 <title>It&#039;s illegal</title>
 <link>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act#comment-1638</link>
 <description>&lt;p&gt;I&#039;ve gotten numerous unsolicited e-mails from Giuliani&#039;s campaign with NO opt out option. I got another one today. They are required by LAW to have an opt out option, as per CAN SPAM. Don&#039;t know why they would not do this, but someone should make a stink about it. The only reason they got my e-mail is because I sent them a message a year or so ago that was far from supportive of Mr. Giuliani. Why they would choose to then add me to their spam list is a mystery.&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
 <pubDate>Mon, 07 Jan 2008 17:06:43 -0500</pubDate>
 <dc:creator>brianmcgann</dc:creator>
 <guid isPermaLink="false">comment 1638 at http://www.techpresident.com</guid>
</item>
<item>
 <title>Getting to the bottom of this</title>
 <link>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act#comment-1483</link>
 <description>&lt;p&gt;After quickly reviewing Giuliani&#039;s last four emails, it looks like the problem Michael described occurred with the three &quot;On the air:&quot; messages, where the unsubscribe link was exactly the same as the joinrudy2008.com link in the footer. So that definitely was just a template error as Colin surmised.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The newest message from today, &quot;Happy Thanksgiving&quot;, did have the correct link to the Lyris unsubscribe page (it makes you click on another button to confirm) as Patrick stated. I clicked on it, confirmed, and got a confirmation email. So we&#039;ll see if I get truly unsubscribed, but due to being hosted by Lyris I see no reason as to why that wouldn&#039;t work correctly.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Giuliani&#039;s emails have been pretty good technically, unlike those from Fred Thompson&#039;s staff, who continue to compose their email in Microsoft Word/Outlook 2007 even after &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/8893/strange_criticism&quot;&gt;this little tift&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
 <pubDate>Wed, 21 Nov 2007 20:39:00 -0500</pubDate>
 <dc:creator>Luigi Montanez</dc:creator>
 <guid isPermaLink="false">comment 1483 at http://www.techpresident.com</guid>
</item>
<item>
 <title>A couple of things.</title>
 <link>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act#comment-1482</link>
 <description>&lt;p&gt;I think a little bit more context is necessary - I apologize for not providing more in the initial post.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;First, the person who first discovered this problem has repeatedly tried to unsubscribe from Giuliani&#039;s emails without success - both through that unsubscribe link, by replying to the emails, and by calling the offices - to no avail.  She is still on the list.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Second, just because you see a Lyris link doesn&#039;t mean that you&#039;re going to where you&#039;re supposed to go.  All email marketing applications - from lyrics to Convio to Constant Contact - offer clickthrough tracking for links in emails.  The links are tracked by changing all of the URLs you make in a message to first hit a page set up by the company that tracks how many hits the page has, and then forwards you on to the actual page.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So even though it looks like a normal link an email, it&#039;s actually just tracking the clicks without doing what it&#039;s supposed to do.  You can check this out with any of the candidates - all links on Joe Biden&#039;s emails first go to a Get Active page (http://ga3.org..., etc.), for example, before forwarding on to Biden&#039;s website.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think Colin&#039;s correct that this is a problem with the email template that has to be corrected, and not a malicious plot by the Giuliani campaign to trap email recipients forever.  It is disconcerting that it is not a more obvious process to get out of the email list.&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
 <pubDate>Wed, 21 Nov 2007 16:11:33 -0500</pubDate>
 <dc:creator>Michael Whitney</dc:creator>
 <guid isPermaLink="false">comment 1482 at http://www.techpresident.com</guid>
</item>
<item>
 <title>Huh?</title>
 <link>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act#comment-1478</link>
 <description>&lt;p&gt;What happens if I click the link? Are you saying I&#039;m not unsubscribed? &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The Giuliani email I got this morning had an unsubscribe link that pointed to a personalized URL on giuliani.lyris.net -- the campaign&#039;s email vendor. By all appearances this is a proper unsubscribe link and provides a mechanism for the user to opt out. &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don&#039;t want to unsubscribe (because it can be a b*tch to get back on at the same address with some of these systems) so I haven&#039;t gone through the process. But I&#039;m not sure what the point of this post is. &lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Is the &quot;click here to unsubscribe&quot; language (that everyone uses) suddenly now invalid? &lt;/p&gt;
</description>
 <pubDate>Wed, 21 Nov 2007 14:34:37 -0500</pubDate>
 <dc:creator>Patrick Ruffini</dc:creator>
 <guid isPermaLink="false">comment 1478 at http://www.techpresident.com</guid>
</item>
<item>
 <title>Probably a bug in the template</title>
 <link>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act#comment-1477</link>
 <description>&lt;p&gt;I bet it turns out that this was just a bug in the template setup -- a link that was left with a default target during development and not filled in with the correct address later, for instance.  Still, definitely bad list-management practice. &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.epolitics.com/2007/11/21/rudy-giulianis-email-hall-of-mirrors/&quot;&gt;More here&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Colin Delany&lt;br /&gt;
e.politics&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.epolitics.com&quot; title=&quot;http://www.epolitics.com&quot;&gt;http://www.epolitics.com&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
</description>
 <pubDate>Wed, 21 Nov 2007 14:15:11 -0500</pubDate>
 <dc:creator>Colin Delany</dc:creator>
 <guid isPermaLink="false">comment 1477 at http://www.techpresident.com</guid>
</item>
<item>
 <title>Is Giuliani Violating the CAN-SPAM Act? </title>
 <link>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act</link>
 <description>&lt;p&gt;If you&#039;re on Rudy Giuliani&#039;s email list, be warned that you&#039;re likely in it for the long haul.  If you click on the &quot;unsubscribe&quot; link at the bottom of any of Giuliani&#039;s emails, you&#039;re brought to JoinRudy2008.com, his campaign&#039;s website.  There appears to be no other way to opt-out of Rudy&#039;s emails, save for replying to the emails with removal requests.  Aside from annoying, there is the chance that Giuliani&#039;s emails are illegal under the CAN-SPAM Act, the federal law regulating unsolicited email communications.  Let&#039;s take a look at the letter of the law.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act&quot;&gt;read more&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
 <comments>http://www.techpresident.com/blog/entry/13667/is_giuliani_violating_the_can_spam_act#comment</comments>
 <category domain="http://www.techpresident.com/techpres/campaign_email">campaign email</category>
 <category domain="http://www.techpresident.com/taxonomy/term/5">Rudy Giuliani</category>
 <pubDate>Wed, 21 Nov 2007 13:10:32 -0500</pubDate>
 <dc:creator>Michael Whitney</dc:creator>
 <guid isPermaLink="false">13667 at http://www.techpresident.com</guid>
</item>
</channel>
</rss>
